Newbie here, probably worrying over nothing, but...

Racer Jess

Arachnopeon
Hi all, my first post here, so hope I'm doing it right.
I got my first tarantula on Saturday, (female Costa Rican Zebra) and was told she's in pre-molt. I understand that they can be lethargic, dull colours, shiny abdomen etc, and that they prefer to be left alone during this time, which is what I'm doing. I make sure her water dish is full, but other than peeking in occasionally, I leave her be. I know not to feed til about 2 weeks after she molts, once her fangs have hardened. She has been in the burrow she made since Saturday evening, and hasn't made any webs or anything. I expect I'm going to be told just to leave her be and she'll do her thing in her own time, but I just want to check seeing that I'm a newbie 😅 I've attached a pic of her I took when I first got her, and one of her enclosure, any tips or constructive advice would be gratefully appreciated

Attachments

Brewser

AraneaeRebel
Arachnosupporter
Congrats...
Your Right On. Leave Her Be.
Wishing You Both the Best.

Racer Jess

Arachnopeon
Congrats...
Your Right On. Leve Her Be.
Wishing You Both the Best.
Thank you! I'm just worried as I know stress isn't good for them during the molting process. I just hope that the stress of her moving from the shop to my home, wouldn't be detrimental to her. I've heard horror stories of them getting stuck and dying during a bad molt?!

Brewser

AraneaeRebel
Arachnosupporter
Thank you! I'm just worried as I know stress isn't good for them during the molting process. I just hope that the stress of her moving from the shop to my home, wouldn't be detrimental to her. I've heard horror stories of them getting stuck and dying during a bad molt?!
Relax
She looks fine.

darkness975

Latrodectus
Arachnosupporter +