Nematodes?!? =(

MourningGory

Arachnopeon
When I woke up yesterday morning I began changing my Ts water only to notice my young G. Pulchra's water cap looked to have very very tiny white worm like things in it. So right off I changed the water and checked later that evening,and there they were again. Today I've switched his enclosure completely,gave him clean substrate,and a new water dish. My other T shows no signs of any problems at all. So is there anything else I should be doing? Is it a definite that my little beauty is sick? Hes still eating and otherwise seems healthy. No signs of dehydration. His legs aren't crumpled at all either. Could it be something else? Thank you in advance for any advice you all maybe able to give. I'm still new to the hobby and I can hardly sleep or concentrate with all that's going on. I guess you could say I'm pretty upset.:cry:

kristinnandbenn

Arachnopeon
I don't know much about nematodes, but I would say quarantine your pulchra from the rest of your collection, and change your feeders to be safe.

jbm150

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
Could be phorid fly maggots if they're wormlike. If they're tiny white specks, likely springtails. I don't think it's much to be worried about yet, keep an eye on your T and report back any new observations

PsychoSpider

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
If the spider is still eating, it most likely does not have nematodes. Does it keep its palps curled under its fangs? From my experiences with nematodes the spider keeps its palps curled under its fangs. Another things to check for would be a white mass on the spiders mouth. Like I said, if its still eating it most likely doesn't have nematodes. Still, don't take the chance, quarantine the spider until you can determine it isn't nematodes. I had nematodes in my collection last year, and it killed off a good portion of my collection. Good luck

MourningGory

Arachnopeon