Narceous gordanus (smokey oak) question

Jc millipede

Arachnopeon
Hello, a newbie here from the UK, I am fortunate to have recently acquired both gordanus and americanus and have had them now about 4 months . can anyone please help me, with the breeding habits of narceous gordanus.. and are they similar to its close relative narceous americanus.... ie do they also just lay singular eggs at any given time and curl around it until its hatching, also how many offspring could potentially be possible from a a single female in any given breeding season. . I have searched the Internet and it all seems a bit patchy with very little information... Many thanks

Jc millipede

Arachnopeon
Thankyou for that, yes apparently so with americanus....read that hatching takes approx 2 weeks and that the breeding season is from late spring until late autumn, so if my maths is correct thinking around six months they could potentially be laying eggs and with intervals of 2 Weeks for each egg would be approx 12 young per year thats if the female was in constant egg laying mode...will be interesting to hear from anyone who has bred from these in captive conditions and see if this varies from what I have read...cheers all for any replies

pannaking22

Arachnoemperor
Old Timer
They don't guard the eggs until they hatch, they just lay and leave them, likely wrapped up in a bit of frass.

Jc millipede

Arachnopeon
Here's one of the the links, but it could be just one persons interpretation https://animaldiversity.org/accounts/Narceus_americanus/