Live animals being used as food in zoo's?

bugmankeith

Arachnoking
Old Timer
Just curious, but do any zoo's use live animals as food for their animals, like for enrichment?

I had a disturbing dream about this last night, and I want to know if there is any truth to it, so I can rest easier.

sick4x4

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
well

well i cant answer for all zoo's but i know for a fact the san diego dosent..i was an intern there for 3 summers...even for the reptiles..to much danger in feeding live food, sooo you can rest asured...peace in the middle east!!!!

bugmankeith

Arachnoking
Old Timer
In my dream they fed tigers and monkeys to the crocodiles, and a female elephant seal to an orca, I was so upset in my dream I woke up and actually had tears in my eyes. It was graphic seeing what happened to the animals, that's why I hope it's not real.

The Snark

Dumpster Fire of the Gods
Old Timer
Sorry, but it's a very common practice in many places. Most zoos in the third world breed food animals for the predators which are fed to them live.

A pair of young white rats await their demise.

Tleilaxu

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
But rats are kinda pointless though, they are not higher animals.

Thoth

Arachnopharoah
Old Timer
Tleilaxu said:
But rats are kinda pointless though, they are not higher animals.
Neither are politicians but we don't feed the to animals, then again...

Beardo

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
bugmankeith said:
In my dream they fed tigers and monkeys to the crocodiles, and a female elephant seal to an orca, I was so upset in my dream I woke up and actually had tears in my eyes. It was graphic seeing what happened to the animals, that's why I hope it's not real.
Gosh....you mean you didn't know that Zoos around the world feed tigers and monkeys to their crocodiles?? :rolleyes: :wall:

The Snark

Dumpster Fire of the Gods
Old Timer
DavidBeard said: