Kritter Keepers, Yea or Nay?

silverhaze269

Arachnopeon
Hi everyone!

I'm new at keeping T's and I'm looking for some opinions on enclosures.

Right now I've got mine set up in a kritter keeper - I think it's a size "small" 9x6x6.5 - but I'm wondering if I should switch her out of it and into something else? She's fine in there for now, but I want to upgrade her to something slightly larger soon.

Are critter keepers just fine, or is an acrylic enclosure the way to go when it comes to keeping T's? I've been having a really hard time finding a source of acrylic enclosures in Canada, so if they really are the best thing to keep them in, what's the second best thing?

Thanks in advance!

Oh! I've got a female B. auratum, in case you were wondering...and I'm not sure how many inches her leg span is - she's usually cozy in her hide when I see her. I've only had her out once since I got her - to transfer her from what I got her in, to the enclosure I have her in now. Can post a picture from that moment of transfer if anyone is curious.

Sergic

Arachnosquire
Critter keepers are my favorite enclosures for terrestrials that need to be, or are fine with being kept dry. I would not keep any species that needs moist substrate in a critter keeps, because critter keepers do not hold humidity and dry out quickly. I've never kept B. auratum, but if I'm not mistaken, they are a desert species and should be fine in a critter keeper.

A quick list of what I consider the pros and cons of critter keepers.

Pros:
  • Can open entire top or just the flap in the middle.
  • When clean, sides are fully transparent.
  • Come in different sizes.
Cons:
  • Much more expensive than other options, such as sterilite tubs.
  • Do not hold moisture.
  • Holes in lid are large enough for slings to fit through.
  • Lids can be hard to open without any jostling.