Is My Tarantula Too Fed?

Yuzan

Arachnopeon
I’m kinda worried whether I’m feeding my tarantula too much. I’m kinda new in the hobby and this is my first 1-inch or so tarantula and I was wondering if this one’s overfed or something. Thank you in advance for your responses!

Attachments

Keke713

Arachnoknight
How often are you feeding? Also you really don’t have to mist the enclosure. Just keep one half of the sub moist so the T can choose which ever it prefers.

Nightstalker47

Arachnoking
I’m kinda worried whether I’m feeding my tarantula too much. I’m kinda new in the hobby and this is my first 1-inch or so tarantula and I was wondering if this one’s overfed or something. Thank you in advance for your responses!
Looks like a healthy specimen to me, add a water dish in the enclosure though.

G.porteri are super slow growers, so one cricket a week is more then enough for a T of that size. You can feed more often, but this may induce a fast and very long pre molt phase.

Yuzan

Arachnopeon
How often are you feeding? Also you really don’t have to mist the enclosure. Just keep one half of the sub moist so the T can choose which ever it prefers.
I’m feeding it once a week. I will do moist the half like you said. Thanks a lot! This really helps me out.

Looks like a healthy specimen to me, add a water dish in the enclosure though.

G.porteri are super slow growers, so one cricket a week is more then enough for a T of that size. You can feed more often, but this may induce a fast and very long pre molt phase.
I will add the waterdish asap. Thank you for the information this really helps me out. I’ll make sure to feed it once a week. I wouldn’t want a long premolt-phase. Just my own preference.

Last edited by a moderator:

boina

Lady of the mites
Are we talking about a G. porteri here? If so it should be on DRY substrate and it definitely should not be sprayed with water. And, no, it doesn't look fat :)

Otteresting

Arachnoknight