1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is My Tarantula Too Fed?

Discussion in 'Tarantula Questions & Discussions' started by Yuzan, Jul 4, 2018.

1. Yuzan

Yuzan Arachnopeon

Advertisement
    I’m kinda worried whether I’m feeding my tarantula too much. I’m kinda new in the hobby and this is my first 1-inch or so tarantula and I was wondering if this one’s overfed or something. Thank you in advance for your responses!

Attached Files:

2. Keke713

Keke713 Arachnosquire Active Member

How often are you feeding? Also you really don’t have to mist the enclosure. Just keep one half of the sub moist so the T can choose which ever it prefers.

3. Nightstalker47

Nightstalker47 Arachnoprince Active Member

Looks like a healthy specimen to me, add a water dish in the enclosure though.

G.porteri are super slow growers, so one cricket a week is more then enough for a T of that size. You can feed more often, but this may induce a fast and very long pre molt phase.

• Agree Agree x 2
  4. Yuzan

Yuzan Arachnopeon

I’m feeding it once a week. I will do moist the half like you said. Thanks a lot! This really helps me out.

I will add the waterdish asap. Thank you for the information this really helps me out. I’ll make sure to feed it once a week. I wouldn’t want a long premolt-phase. Just my own preference.

Last edited by a moderator: Jul 4, 2018
    • Like Like x 1
  5. boina

boina Lady of the mites Arachnosupporter

Germany
    Are we talking about a G. porteri here? If so it should be on DRY substrate and it definitely should not be sprayed with water. And, no, it doesn't look fat :)

• Agree Agree x 1
  6. Otteresting

Otteresting Arachnoknight

France
    Even if it looked fat, you can just expect to a longer premolt. Being fat doesnt mean that your tarantula is in poor health, just that she'll eventually become more fragile to basically everything that would hurt her abdomen

• Agree Agree x 2