I need some help.

SavageKev

Arachnopeon
uh i got this tarantula from a customer at my store. He seems pretty sick. he was housing him in a 10 gallon tank witch i found ridiculous considering he is the size of both my hands. I'm new to the arachnid world but i want to try and help this guy before he passes. his abdomen is always shriveled even though he is mostly in his water bowl so i don't really think he is dehydrated. He gets stressed when i put his light on. He just passes his tank. my current set up isn't really the best for him either but i'm working on it. I do believe it is a male Goliath. Here is a pic. Do you think hes gunna make it?

Attachments

Marijan2

Arachnobaron
i think you got the OLD male Theraphosa spp. I don't think you can do much anymore, he will die soon and you can't do much about it. Try giving food, but i doubt it will help

Osmo

Arachnosquire
Im new to this hobby as well but it looks like a mature male that may have tried a molt after it matured?

SavageKev

Arachnopeon
Well he has been eatting very well. Im not sure about the age tho but if he is fully mature and old then that would explain alot. Thanks for the replies!

Osmo

Arachnosquire
Well he has been eatting very well. Im not sure about the age tho but if he is fully mature and old then that would explain alot. Thanks for the replies!
Whats his overall size front right leg to back left leg?

When a male matures they pretty much are on the clock for death. If they try to molt again its usually unsuccessful and does damage. From the picture it loks like his legs are wonky. If hes not old and mature then it may have been a just very bad normal molt.

SavageKev

Arachnopeon