Heating the terrarium!?

fscorpion

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
As the winter is approaching and the temperatures are already considerably falling under 20C I will have to find a way to keep my scorpions warm...
Now, I still didn't figure what to use as a heater. My room temperatures during winter won't be surely above 22C and I think that is probably not nearly enough for Parabuthus and Heterometrus species (this will be the first winter that I keep scorpions-I only had over wintering species)...
What should I use, a heat pad or a infrared light bulb? Now, the first is very hard to find in my country, lets say impossible, I can only find those heaters for fish, but I guess they have to be kept under water. The latter are easy to find, but have a disgusting red light, I will have to place them on my own (and I am not an electrician) and I have no idea how many W to use...
What do you suggest me? Is there any other solution I can use?
Thanks
Fscorpio

TheNothing

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
i am a fan of heat lamps (40w tend to heat a 10g sized tank sufficently). If kept in a small area, that 40w lamp can even heat both tanks well.

It really is kinda trial and error on these types of things though...

Empi

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
There is a way to use a fish tank heater that works pretty damn good. I did it for a while with my herps and baby cockatiels. Take two critter keepers of equal size and suction the heater to the bottom of one and fill it about 1/4 of the way up with water. Then you just push the emty critter keeper inside of it. Just set the heater to the disired temp and plug it in. It is more expensive to doo it like that as opposed to a light but it makes it really easy to keep the temp the same all the time. Just an idea...

fscorpion

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
Empi said: