feeding my slings

franz02

Arachnopeon
hi, recently ive acquired 5 slings of different tarantula species. it is because they are inexpensive and also entertaining to see my pet grow.. by the way, i am a beginner.

this is where the question goes, i just want to ask you guys for some tips on what is the proper diet on these slings and on how often do i need to feed them..

these 5 cuties are:

lasiodora parahybana
gramostola pulchripes
brachypelma smithi
brachypelma vagans
brachypelma bohemia

they are all less than an inch

BC1579

Arachnobaron
Diet could be crickets, dubia, lateralis, mealworms, superworms...whatever you can get your hands on and your slings will eat.

I’d prekill the worms (maybe even break them up to feed multiple slings). I might even prekill the crix and roaches depending on the particular sling and their response. Unkilled worms can burrow quickly and, if left on their own, will transform into beetles. They can absolutely kill your sling or even a juvenile/adult T if they’re freshly molted and still squishy.

I prefer watching the sling take down the prey, but if they don’t take it right away you should remove it after 12-24 hours.

I’m of the belief that slings should eat early and often. Fat little slings are able to direct all of their energy stores to growth. Plus their fat bootys are one of the best things about this hobby.

Last edited:

Gossamer

Arachnopeon
I cut crickets/superworms in pieces to feed my slings every 2-3 days. As much as they will eat, I'll offer. I call the fattest ones my 'grapes with legs' hehe. I take out and whatever they don't finish the next day. So far I've only offered my c. cyaneopubescens live prey... my other slings have been too timid.

BC1579

Arachnobaron
So far I've only offered my c. cyaneopubescens live prey... my other slings have been too timid.
I call mine Leonidas. That’s how he approaches every meal. Crix, roach, worm...he just dives on it. It’s insane.

PidderPeets

Arachnoprince