Enclosure Tempreture Problems!

flippinekfaria

Arachnopeon
Hello!

I'm new to keeping tarantula and struggling. After 7 months Hombre (Mexican Redknee) died right after a 4th moult due to what I suspect is a problem with enclosure temperature.

The problem is my house is old, cold and draft so ambient temperature is 15-17C unless really cold, and that is when things get tricky. I live in the UK so whilst the heating comes on in the winter it's never hot in an old house without a log burner going... then it's stupidly hot.

To avoid extreme changes in temperature my new companion, Gordito (Salmon Pink) also lives in my office, in a plastic enclosure employing a small heat mat under one side with approximately 1.5cm of substrate. I have a thermostat controlling the mat but it seems useless because the thermometer in the enclosure never records anything higher than about 18C unless, I light the log burner (yes, in a small office) and then it can fly up to 25C+!

I rarely light the fire so 18C is too cold for my companion and I'm trying to sort it out whist trying not to disturb it too much. Sadly any googling for help fitting heat mats and thermostats just results in 18,000,000 hits from people telling me I don't need a matt, shouldn't use one at all and how lovely and warm their homes are all year around... not exactly helpful.

Is there a good guide to setting up an enclosure with specific instruction to controlling temperature? I'm not daft, very practical in fact, so clearly missing something obvious. Can anyone offer assistance please?? Cheers.

cold blood

Staff member
The solution is simple...get a larger aquarium, heat that with the mat on the side, and place your t enclosure in that larger heated tank.

This creates a microclimate, so theres no dangerous hot spots.