Changing substrate?

mortado1990

Arachnopeon
Hello I am new to keeping insects and arachnids and before I buy my first pet (I was thinking blue death feigning beetles) I was wondering if I need to change the substrate for insects and arachnids, and if so, how frequently do I do it and how do I go about it?

viper69

ArachnoGod
Old Timer
for Ts you don't have to change it too often if at all. In fact when you change the sub Ts don't like it because they dont like being distrubted- spot cleaning is best.

Ultum4Spiderz

Arachnoemperor
Arachnosupporter
Hello I am new to keeping insects and arachnids and before I buy my first pet (I was thinking blue death feigning beetles) I was wondering if I need to change the substrate for insects and arachnids, and if so, how frequently do I do it and how do I go about it?
I stir old substrate with a stick or tool and add a small layer of fresh ontop if anything at all. No reason to toss substrate unless it’s so rough and abrasive it’s unusable. I’ve had to do this before bad bags of soil. Sometimes top soil over watered can become abrasive exposing the hard stuff. So it needs periodically refreshed not tossed.

Smotzer

ArachnoGod
Arachnosupporter +
Whether or not you need to change substrate depends on what you are keeping, for example you will beed to occasionally change substrate for things like isopods and millipedes but you will not need to for arachnids or the crabs I keep, as another example. best to look into each invertebrates unique needs!

Ultum4Spiderz

Arachnoemperor
Arachnosupporter
Whether or not you need to change substrate depends on what you are keeping, for example you will beed to occasionally change substrate for things like isopods and millipedes but you will not need to for arachnids or the crabs I keep, as another example. best to look into each invertebrates unique needs!