Caribena versicolor webbing?

bryangottalara

Arachnopeon
image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg I got my caribena versicolor about a month ago and I'm almost positive it was a female due to the epigastric furrow that was on her abdomen. She's made a web tunnel this past month so it's kind of hard of hard to see, but I noticed this morning that she got a lot skinnier, so I thought she had molted and the molt was just somewhere at the bottom of the enclosure. But then I come home a few hours later and she has attached her mouth a huge ball of web... is she mature enough to be gravid? She's only about 3.5 inches in diameter. Or is this something that this species do sometimes? This is my first time seeing something like this and I have no idea what to make of it. Here's a few pictures of how big she looks and what she's holding on her mouth, sorry if I couldn't get the best one with all the webbing that's in the way.

Danalemp1216

Arachnosquire
One of my versicolors laid a sac when she was about that size last year, without mating. It is not uncommon for them to lay unfertilized eggs. If she definitely wasnt bred before you got her, I would take it away, as she won't do anything but gaurd it for a while.

Nightstalker47

Arachnoking
If she definitely wasnt bred before you got her, I would take it away, as she won't do anything but gaurd it for a while.
No need to take it away, she will eat the sac if its a phantom on her own time, have had this happen many times now. Taking the sac from her is just wasteful, prevents her from recycling all her lost nutrients from the egg laying process.

Danalemp1216

Arachnosquire
Taking the sac from her is just wasteful, prevents her from recycling all her lost nutrients from the egg laying process.