B. boehmei or A. bicoloratum? I think boehmei...

Nanchantress

ArachnoFriend
Old Timer
This 4" T has been for sale at Petco for over 9 months for $149 - marked as a "Mexican Bloodleg". I asked the manager to save the molt for me (recently the bald spot had darkened) and it just molted 2 days ago. I think it is a female B.boehmei because of the fused spermatheca vs. an A.bicoloratum which would have a divided spermatheca according to my search on this forum.

I offered $60 which I would be willing to pay for a 4-4.5" female B.boehmei. The manager will give me a call after he checks his numbers.

Second opinions on sex, species, and price?

Thanks!
Nancy

Attachments

Nanchantress

ArachnoFriend
Old Timer
Here is a better picture - I think the first image only shows the uterus externus. Am I on the right track? Please correct me if I'm wrong - I'm still a newbie...

Attachments

Comatose

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
Determining species would be much easier if you have a picture of the spider itself.

BrettG

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
As mentioned,pics of spider if possible. And if he goes for it,$60 is a STEAL for a 4 inch female boehmei.......Heck of a Petco find...

Nanchantress

ArachnoFriend
Old Timer
Oh, sorry - I didn't have my camera at the store, but they let me keep the exuvium so here is a picture of that... Does that help? I pretty much have it narrowed down to one of the two species, but like I said, I'm pretty new at this so I welcome your thoughts.

Attachments

Comatose

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
+1 for boehmei

The carapace isn't elevated enough to be AB

Crysta

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
Last edited:

Nanchantress

ArachnoFriend
Old Timer
Thanks everyone for your input. He has not responded to my offer yet, but if he doesn't go for my $60 and we start haggling, what do you think should be my maximum to still make it a reasonable deal given that he hasn't been able to sell it in 9 months?

Crysta

Arachnoprince
Old Timer