5 Pulchras. Tough Investment Question

Tjohns

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
Ok I kinda dipped into this subject a little bit on a recent post but I'd like to go into more depth since it kinda caught my curiosity. I really need the expertise of this board since I'm still new to this hobby. Kind of a what would you do question also.

Assuming I bought 5 Grammostola Pulchra slings at $40 a piece. That comes out to $200 (minus shipping).

I could buy a guaranteed 4" pulchra female for $235 right now (minus shipping). But what's the fun in that? (rhetorical question)

1) The chances of one of those five slings being a female should be great right?
Anyone ever buy five slings and have none of them turn out to be females?

2) How much would they be worth at 2" 4" and finally 6"?
What is the price difference between males and females of same size?

3) Do you think breeding the Pulchras (which I've heard is difficult) is something that I should attempt when they get large enough? Would I owe it to the hobby to attempt breeding by taking 5 Pulchras off of the market?

4) Do you estimate Pulchras becoming even more rare in the future? Staying the same in availability and price, or do you think they will become common enough and cheap.

5) Is there a way to profit from spending $200 or so on five slings? After feeding, housing etc. I am not talking about becoming ridiculously rich obviously but making enough money that it would have been worth it in the end.

gride225

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
5 Pulchra slings would be worth $200 IMO. Even if none turn out to be female, you will still have them for a long while since they grow fairly slow. If all matured as males sell them for $40 and you would have your initial investment back plus the experience of keeping some awesome T's. If they turn out to be females well mini jackpot if you chose to sell them. Either way i dont see how you could lose.

Talkenlate04

ArachnoGod
Old Timer