your jump to OW?

Venom1080

Arachnoemperor
I'm new to the tarantula world but old in the tooth with snakes. I simply do not subscribe to the view that there is a beginner species and a subsequent scale of species.
Provided you have researched fully the husbandry needs, along with the potential speed and damage a species is capable of, then there is no such thing as beginner or advanced. What makes a species "advanced" is its specific husbandry and environmental needs. Provided they are catered for, then any species is simple - it just needs food! The hard part is providing its environment and as long as the keeper has fully researched that and provided what's needed, everything else is simple.
I have a mixture of old and new world spiders, having started keeping them in November. All of mine are feeding and molting. I've rehoused my O sp negros without any issues.
Ts are not pets. They are wild animals. As long as you know that, and what each species' temperament is, there is no reason why an old world should be seen as not for beginners.
I am sure this post will attract plenty of face palm, thumbs down etc etc but there we go!
Not really. Tarantulas universally are quite simple to maintain. Most species could survive in a plastic box with a few holes in the top and a water dish.

Husbandry does not equate to a species being advanced or not. As its negligible in its differences.

Venom is a multiplying factor. Speed and defensiveness is the main factor. Some genera have terrible venom, but they are generally laid back spiders. Like Poecilotheria. So they arent as high on the list as something that is both more venomous and defensive/skittish. Lile Stromatopelma or Cyriopagopus.

For someone new to spiders, a laid back new world is always best. Not necessary, but best.

Pyroxian

Arachnophobophiliac
As for the first point that frankly is just stupidity.
If you buy a t but don't know if it's old or new world then frankly you shouldn't have one!