Your experience with Emerald Tree Boas or Green Tree Pythons

Bodega Bay Aquatics

Arachnopeon
Hello! My name is Patrick and I am interested in getting either a GTP or an ETB. After going back and forth I've decided to go with whichever one presents itself first. I won't be able to get a ETB or GTP for a while but even though that sounds really far off, I want to know everything I need to. And its also my passion to keep learning about this stuff. So for me as a reptile keeper, I have very little first hand experience. I grew up on a small farm and (looking to move back right now, actually) and I still have a small collection of animals, along with 10 aquariums which I house tropical fish like discus. From other animals I have a good understanding of misting systems and overall husbandry. Once I move I plan on getting a California kingsnake as my first snake. The high school I will be attending has a wildlife museum so I hope I can get around some larger snakes (BCI boas, ect) during the same time of having the Cal king. I wanted to start with something easier so I'd have a higher likelihood of a good experience. My true goal though is to keep either a GTB or ETB and I was wondering what you thought of your ETB or GTP? Also, if you feel comfortable sharing what CB breeders yo recommend it would be much appreciated. Thank you very much in advance!

Jumbie Spider

Arachnobaron
I recently learned about the ETB's and I am quite fascinated. The northern tends to stay smaller (~6-7') and the amazon basin variants tend to get bigger (~8-9') and claims to be more docile than the northern. From what I have seen it's recommended to avoid handling them, they have some of the largest teeth, used to catch birds. CB prices run around $800 for the northern and I've seen $4K for the amazon basins'. Given that barrier to entry I would say do as much research as you possibly can.