Yellow and Gold Scorpions?

maurus

Arachnopeon
Hey guys, new the the forum. Never had a scorp, but sure do know my stuff (researched them for years).

Does anyone know the gold and yellow scorpions that are in captivity and won't bee to hard to acquire in the US?

I'm a HUGE fan of Scorpio Maurus sp. (hence the name). But I've heard they don't live to longs and I havent't heard alot about their breeding. I want a scorpion that breeds fairly easy and lives a decent amount of time.

Anything similar to Scorpio Maurus. You probably won't see me on the Tarantula forums too often, as I'm just getting into them.

thanks! :D

Chrome69

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
Could look into mesobuthis martensii, smaller desert species that can be kept decently densely communally, like 10 in a 10gal ish. Easy to breed, fun to watch.

cheeky

Arachnosquire
just go with the classic hadrurus arizonensis. they are easy, and they are yellow.:)

maurus

Arachnopeon
Those are decent, but I'm more into large chelicerae.

---------- Post added at 04:59 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:28 PM ----------

I like Opistophtalmus Glabifrons!

gromgrom

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
Think he wants to breed em, real hard to breed Hadrurus.
The difficulty is in getting the brood to molt, not the actual pairing. They require specific humidity and conditions to molt, and its a bit difficult to do in captivity, as they tend to molt down deep in a burrow. In the wild, they can typically have burrows 10-25 feet deep, and use that to regulate the humidity they need.

This is not what we can supply them in the hobby, and thus, many specimens die due to poor care.

You can do a good search on how to replicate it in captivity. I've heard of even using a false bottom to get the lower levels of a 10 gallon to be quite moist to what they need.

If I'm missing anything please feel free to add. Just what I remember from a couple years ago.

Chrome69

Arachnoknight
Old Timer