Would really appreciate an accurate ID for this one

Joe Bananas

Arachnopeon
http://i.imgur.com/1CSAy.jpg

This is Sandra Bullock.

I thought she was a Hogna carolinensis but because her abdomen is blotted and not solid black I don't think that is correct. But also, I've got other information to rule out H. aspersa as well as H. Helluo but I'm not an expert.

By far the largest Wolf Spider I have ever seen. Her legspan is about 3.75 inches. Her body about 1.25 inches.

Anyways, r/spiders at reddit couldn't identify it to my satisfaction, so I came here. Also, I despise reddit.

Thanks and have a great day.

Joe Bananas

Arachnopeon
You 100% on that? From what I looked up Hogna Helluo shouldn't be this big. Can you give me more detail?

Ciphor

Arachnoprince
You 100% on that? From what I looked up Hogna Helluo shouldn't be this big. Can you give me more detail?
It's definitely Hogna (soon to be Tigrosa).

That is all I can say for certain. Many species in this group can look very similar. Size varies too.

The Snark

Dumpster Fire of the Gods
Old Timer
It's definitely Hogna (soon to be Tigrosa).

That is all I can say for certain. Many species in this group can look very similar. Size varies too.
Come on, Ciphor! That's like standing on the side of the road and seeing a classy car drive past and you ask the expert beside you what the car was and he mumbles Toyota. How about what to look for to ID it completely? Faring, chrome, exhaust pipes, front grill, aerodynamics? How about the headlight configuration?

Last edited:

Joe Bananas

Arachnopeon
That's like standing on the side of the road and seeing a classy car drive past and you ask the expert beside you what the car was and he mumbles Toyota. How about what to look for to ID it completely?
I know without a doubt it is Hogna.

H. carolinensis has a solid black underside (abdomen and cephalothorax) and supposedly have white markings on their legs, similar to Phoneutria.