Hello there, why not take a few seconds to register on our forums and become part of the community? Just click here.

white leg centipede help

Discussion in 'Myriapods' started by Peyton Bemis, Nov 12, 2019.

1. Peyton Bemis

Peyton Bemis Arachnopeon Active Member

Advertisement
    I need help with my white leg centipede theres nothing online that has information. On how much I feed or husbandry I know to keep them dry and I heard organic top soil works best but I got eco earth :( I really need help can anyone help me? Hopefully I did this right this is my first time posting...

Attached Files:

• Dislike Dislike x 1
  2. basin79

basin79 Arachnoemperor Active Member

This would be better in the Myriapods section. There's loads of helpful threads on Scolopendra gigantea on this very forum. Eco earth is fine. I'd have deeper sub and have the bottom damp and the top dry. Water dish and a piece of cork bark or hide large enough for the pede to get under.

3. NYAN

NYAN Arachnoking Active Member

CA
    I love how people get animals first and then ask questions about care later.

Anyway, keep this species on the dry side. There should be a moisture gradient under hides or deeper in the substrate. Coco fiber isn’t bad, but for a species that likes it dry it will not support burrowing very well. You can mix the coco fiber with other ingredients like clay, sand and small rocks. Make sure the pede has a hide and a water dish. For feeding, once or twice a week with an appropriate sized food item is fine.

• Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 2
  4. Peyton Bemis

How many crickets a week would you feed?

5. Nicholas Rothstein

Nicholas Rothstein Arachnoknight Active Member

Oh buddy you could have possibly sentenced this guy to death. Do not buy animals without knowing their care requirements. Please treat animals with respect, they aren't toys were you open the box and then look up the instructions online because you threw them away.

• Agree Agree x 2