Which Species to get? Newbie Here.

radjess331

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
Hi, Im relatively new to tarantulas. I have had rose hair t's for years but thats the only species of tarantula I've ever owned... I'm more of a snake person.

edit: (owned a cobalt blue before...was given to me...had it for a year and gave it away, most evil thing ive ever met lol)

I would like to get another species of t, However I am having a hard time deciding on which to get.

I am looking for a species that gets to a decent size or larger. One that is easy to handly or atleast a relatively calm species.

so far ive been recommended that I get these species:
Lasiodora parahybana
E. Campestratus

I'd really like any opinions on what I should get that would match what I am looking for, or atleast match within argueable reason.

Last edited:

JimM

Arachnoangel
Old Timer
Can't beat Grammostola pulchripes. I have a fair number of species, but if I could only keep one, this would be it.

tarantulagirl10

Arachnobaron
I agree with Jim, the G pulchripes is fantastic. Nice color, big, good eater, docile. E campestratus is a good one too, we have one of each of these and I am very pleased with both of them.

ZombieGal

Arachnopeon
Can't beat Grammostola pulchripes. I have a fair number of species, but if I could only keep one, this would be it.
Agreed 100%. A good sized, wonderful tempered beauty!

I also love my b. boehmei lots and lots. I've heard nasty rumors about their uricating hairs, but mine has NEVER kicked at me!

radjess331

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
Thanks guys, I will look into getting a Grammostola pulchripes then. Since it's christmas time needed to get so,e ideas on what to ask for lol

Also any recommended places to get a Grammostola pulchripes???

ZombieGal

Arachnopeon
Thanks guys, I will look into getting a Grammostola pulchripes then. Since it's christmas time needed to get so,e ideas on what to ask for lol