What's your FAVORITE Aphonopelma species, and why???

Great Basin Ben

Arachnosquire
Hi there everyone, I am wondering if any of you that have ANY experience with our native North American Tarantulas, would like to offer any advice as to WHICH is your favorite Aphonopelma species, and if so, why. I'm BRAND NEW to Tarantulas, so I'm sure that there are MANY varieties of this Genus that I'm unfamiliar with, so please feel free to expand on the list.

A. chalcodes
A. hentzi
A. eutylenum
A. seemani (not North American, but a very familiar Aphonopelma species)
A. anax
A. iodium
A. nevadanum
A. mojave
and last but not least that I'm familiar with is A. moderatum

According to ZOO Zipcode, there are approx. 106 sub species of the Genus Aphonopelma.

As well, I've seen what appear to be MANY sub-species varieties of A. chalcodes, or the Desert Blonde Tarantula) like the Payson, New River, Carlsbad, ect...

I'd LOVE to hear any info that you may have. Good experiences, GREAT experiences, tempermants, ect... I don't really know if this is worthy of a poll (yet), but after I can narrow it down to 4 or 5 Aphonopelma species, then perhaps.

MANY THANKS to all, and Take care,
Ben.

Hentzi

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
A. hentzi is my firm personal favourite as well as being my first Tarantula, very placid nature good eater well mine is. As a rule I don't handle any of my Tarantulas but if I ever had to Aphonopelma's I would with no problems. You have to be patient with Aphonopelma's though as they are slow to do anything if you are patient get one .

A Chalcodes are just the same imo.

sja69

Arachnopeon
I love the look of the Moderatum and would love to get one when a sling becomes available.

Sutekh

Arachnopeon
Bicoloratum is my favorite :)