What is this?

kikuhiko

Arachnopeon
I'm new to this. A couple weeks ago i got the spontaneous idea to house some isopods and millipedes and in 3 diff enclosures (its been a process) ive run into these growing in ll of them. This is my current tank for millipedes. What is it? Is it bad? How do i keep it from growing so rapidly? I'd hate to disturb the bugs and stress them out more than i need to.

Attachments

pannaking22

Arachnoemperor
Old Timer
Looks like some sort of mold. The isopods should eventually bring it under control, though doing some spot cleaning would help control it. If it gets really bad you may have to start over with the substrate.

moricollins

Arachno search engine
Old Timer
Looks like some sort of mold. The isopods should eventually bring it under control, though doing some spot cleaning would help control it. If it gets really bad you may have to start over with the substrate.
Agreed that it looks like mold. Spot clean, it'll be fine.

Hisserdude

Arachnoking
Spot clean for sure, I've rarely had isopods consume that type of substrate mold, they seem to mostly leave it alone and let it grow... -_- Happens sometimes in humid soil that isn't burrowed through or disturbed much, just remove the patches you see, mix the soil up a bit in that area and you should be OK.

kikuhiko

Arachnopeon
Spot clean for sure, I've rarely had isopods consume that type of substrate mold, they seem to mostly leave it alone and let it grow... -_- Happens sometimes in humid soil that isn't burrowed through or disturbed much, just remove the patches you see, mix the soil up a bit in that area and you should be OK.
will do! glad to know its not horrible or anything. hopefully it wont be too horrible to manage @_@

DrippingPopsicle

Arachnosquire