What’s your reaction to urticating hairs?

What’s your reaction to urticating hairs?

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

BlackVenom

Arachnopeon
I was wanting to see other people's reactions to urticating hairs. Also curious to see photos and info on what tarantula you had the reaction too. I'm no doctor so I tried my best coming up with describing a severe, mild, and low reaction.

Here's a photo of my arm after dealing with my T. stirmi.

JimM

Arachnoangel
Old Timer
So far (several decades) I've never had a reaction at all, not even at itch.
Then again I don't go sticking my face in my Bracy's rear.

Najakeeper

Arachnoprince
I don't mass with anyone in the T room but when I touch something the reaction is usually mild itching for a few hours. Of course I haven't unpacked 200 angry imported T.blondis like some of my buddies.

Note that I have been bitten by a venomous snake with potent venom and showed no violent allergic reaction to it even though I was close to losing my thumb due to severe necrosis.

barabootom

Arachnolord
Old Timer
I have a severe reaction to T blondi hairs only. Everything else is from no reaction, to an hour or two of itching.

skippy

Arachnoangel
Old Timer
my hands get a little itchy when dealing with a brachy, lasiodora or theraphosa sp... for a couple hours, that's all the reaction i've ever had.

QuantumGears

Arachnopeon
I've only been haired twice. The first time wasn't bad, some mild itching that dissipated within 24 hours. The second time was horrible for some reason. I would wake up itching. It was exhausting. I resorted to gnawing at my hand to get it to stop. :evil: All of this from a G. rosea of course.

Sorry I don't have any pictures, I never broke out in a rash.

micheldied

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
I've had B. smithi, G. Rosea, L. Parahybana, and now T. apophysis.
Never even felt any hairs before, though my Ts rarely ever kicked hairs.
This might change with the Theraphosa as they grow though...

CombiChrist

Arachnopeon