urticating hairs-reaction times

jlynn859

Arachnopeon
I am new to this hobby. My daughter and I have a b. Emilia and a Davus pent. I have read different posts on here about reactions to getting hair kicked at you. But I was wondering what your reaction time was? The Emilia has been sweet since we got it about two months ago. Until the cat decided to knock her critter carrier down in the middle of the night one night, about 4 feet down. Ever since she has been nasty. And the carrier popped opened that night with substrate all over the floor and cat chasing the t. Needless to say I would assume hairs went everywhere that night and I had to hurry and vacuum up the substrate and get her back once the carrier. I didn’t have a reaction then. But I had to change her water bowl and moved her hide and of course she kicked hairs at me twice. I did hold my breath and put the lid back on. So I was wondering what your reaction time was. And of course I did this in the kitchen so then had to wipe everything and vacuum really good the counters and stuff. Sorry for such a long post. I have read other ones just couldn’t find one where people stated how long it took to have a reaction.

viper69

ArachnoGod
Old Timer
Reaction times vary from none to days. Such info has zero bearing on your body.

Wouldn’t be surprised if urticating setae blow right through a vac making things worse.

Don’t get hem in your eye, may lead to blindness:

Garetyl

Arachnoknight
I'd really move the ts to where the cat can't do that again asap. Before the cat gets a mouthful of urticating hairs. They're apparently far worse for smaller animals to deal with.

I had no reaction to any species's hair until I got my B. Hamorii yesterday. One of them is a big kicker and it really sucked. My hands felt like they were full of thorns almost instantly and I broke out in a seriously nasty rash. But I understood that this could happen and knew what it was. Your cat doesn't have the same luxury.

jlynn859

Arachnopeon