T's Diet

AubZ

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
Hi to all,
I am a noob at the hobby and would like your advise. Can I feed my T's on ONLY crickets or do I have to vary their diet?? Please provide reasons for your answers.

Thanks

P. Novak

ArachnoGod
Old Timer
You can feed crickets as a staple food item, but there are also various roaches and the occasional pinky mouse. Some people have fed their Ts small CB fish as well. Roaches are the best choice because they breed fast, have big numbers, various sizes, and are very easy to care for.

Pinky mice should not be a staple diet because it is high in calcium and can cause the fangs to break during a molt.

Meal worms, Super worms, Wax worms are other variets, but don't always get accepted cause they burrow fast.

Talkenlate04

ArachnoGod
Old Timer
Variety is the spice of life. :D

But I know from my experience before I ever heard of the boards, I only fed crickets. Feeding roaches and wax worms, meal worms,all of that never even crossed my mind. A cricket only diet was what my Ts had for a majority of my time in the hobby. I never had a problem.

So while I practice feeding my feeders well now and know a bit more about what Ts need. I still think a cricket only diet will be fine for anyone.

Side note it may be a bit better to vary the diet, but your T will still live and thrive on crickets. It's not like they are going to die because of them.

G. pulchra

ArachnoGod
Old Timer
Is it worth the effort to breed your own roaches? I've thought about making the switch from store bought crickets because I get tired of them escaping and "cricketing" around the house.

P. Novak

ArachnoGod
Old Timer
Is it worth the effort to breed your own roaches? I've thought about making the switch from store bought crickets because I get tired of them escaping and "cricketing" around the house.
Definately worth it. Much easier to keep alive then standard crickets and don't smell bad either. YOu would never have to pay for T food again.:D