Trapdoor spiders in Virginia - where are they lurking?

trappedinaburrow

Arachnopeon
Newbie in need of some expert advice! In late February, I found this guy or gal on the sidewalk in Arlington, VA. I’m fairly sure this is a cork-door trapdoor spider. I was surprised to 1) see one outside a burrow on a cold February morning, 2) surprised to see one outside during the day, and 3) amazed that there were spiders like this in Northern VA. I’m not an expert or a someone who keeps spiders, but I haven’t been able to stop thinking about the fact that there are trapdoor spiders so close to my home. I wanted to know if anyone knows how to identify their burrows. I would love to keep track of the little guys out in the wild. I know they mostly stay in their burrows, so it would be fun to know where they are to keep tabs on them from time to time. See how they’re doing, tempt them to pop out with a cricket every so often. Stuff like that.

From my basic research, I know trapdoors in the eastern US tend to live on forested ravines (I live right along one), but how do I identify their burrows exactly? I don’t really know what signs to look for, or the best places to start (yes, I know they are intended to be hidden and hard to find, but a keen eye and some knowledge can go along way). To help, I live near the edge of a forest and a small stream. There are banks on either side of the stream that rang from sheer rock faces about 10 feet up, to sloping banks made up of small rocks, trees, moss and lots of dead leaves and twigs. Do trapdoors like to stay in more flat, open areas, or do they prefer some sort of incline? Do they tend to stay around the bases of trees? Remain under areas usually covered with fallen leaves? Or do they stay out with their trapdoors exposed and uncovered? For a forested environment, do spiders like drier soil or more most soil?