The perils of surrogate motherhood.

skinheaddave

SkorpionSkin
Arachnosupporter +
So yes, I am bracing for a potential onslaught of maternal activities. Does anyone have any good sources for dealing with egg sacs? I am tempted to leave them with the mother should one of my Ts lay -- but I understand that it is often safer to remove the sack. I understand the basics -- make some sort of incubation container with the proper temp/humidity and rotate the sack several times a day. Where can I find info on the more subtle aspects?

Cheers,
Dave

MrDeranged

He Who Rules
Staff member
I'm not really experienced in this aspect of the hobby yet, but here's my 2 cents.

Alot of the time it really depends on the species that you are trying to breed. From what I've heard, many species make great mothers and you'd be a fool to remove the sac. On the other hand, some may eat their sac if you just breathe on their enclosure and if you want a possibility of a hatchout, you have to remove the eggsac.

Why don't you let us know what you're trying to breed and if any of the more experience breeders on the board have any info, they'll help you out alot more than I can. :)

Scott

johns

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
Hi, SHD- Darrin Vernier(gphx@msn.com) could also possibly answer any questions about surrogate motherhood, incubators, etc

skinheaddave

SkorpionSkin
Arachnosupporter +
Scott et al.,

We currently have two G.rosea who have been bred, a P.regalis that we suspect has been bred and a H.lividum that the guy who had it before supposedly bred.

We will also be breeding B.vagans and Usumbaras once we have mature males.

Cheers,
Dave

Phillip

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
I would leave them with mom...