Tarantula sealed the entrance of her cave!

Sephyiria

Arachnopeon
I know the most universally accepted answer would be "leave it alone". But I will just ask anyway. My darling is a juvie female B. Emilia. Around 2+ inches LS. Molted about 21 days ago. Few days after molt, she was very hungry, and devoured a superworm which I gave twice a week. I really like how much of a voracious eater she was! But she suddenly sealed her cave 2 days ago. And I cant give her food because of that. Is she preparing for another molt?? Kinda fast imo,considering she just molted 21 days ago, or is this actually normal? Should I open the seal just a little bit and drop a superworm inside? Below is the image of her sealed burrow. I am new to the hobby btw..so please go easy on me senpai! :)

Attachments

Marijan2

Arachnobaron
If she sealed herself, she wants some time alone. Tarantulas are weird creatures, and yes, it is perfectly normal for them to do that :)

Sephyiria

Arachnopeon
thanks for the replies! she does have access to fresh water..or should I say..she used to? since the water bowl is outside of the burrow...:sorry:

EulersK

Arachnonomicon
Staff member
thanks for the replies! she does have access to fresh water..or should I say..she used to? since the water bowl is outside of the burrow...:sorry:
These creatures haven't survived millions of years by trapping themselves in burrows ;) If she's thirsty, she'll come out. B. emilia are the definition of a pet rock, you should be happy that yours is doing anything.

Marijan2

Arachnobaron
She won't dehydrate herself to death, there is no worries about that. You said she ate a lot of supers before going in, that should provide her enough moisture for going MIA for prolonged periods of time, since T's get majority of their water intake from prey. Especially semi-desert species like Brachypelma and at that size

magicmed

Arachnobaron