Tarantula in a museum

Ayuminell

Arachnopeon
Hi everyone,
I'm new to the hobby and got my first T a couple weeks back, it's such a wonderful hobby.
Today one of my friend went on a trip to an insect museum and send me a couple pictures of a tarentula, knowing my new founded love for them.
But seeing this T enclosure I started wondering : according to my friend, someone told her it's a grammostola (no idea on the specie, maybe porteri?).

Aren't all grammostolas terrestrial? If so isn't she in danger in such a tall enclosure with so little substrat? Before going there I would like to know your opinion about this, thanks a lot!

Attachments

TarantulaPhoenix

Arachnopeon
I believe it is dangerous as all types of grammostola are terrestrial, museums shouldnt be allowed to have tarantulas to be honest. The museum closest to me has a adult L parahybana in a very very small enclosure, i don’t know if the museum would do anything about the T you’re talking about but its worth a shot to educate them!

Neonblizzard

Arachnomoron
Ironically zoos / museums are regular offenders of bad tarantula husbandry, telling them otherwise is like walking into a car workshop and telling them they aren't doing their oil changes correctly.

Best thing you can do is not support them by not going there

Ayuminell

Arachnopeon
Yeah so as you said I went there and talked to someone who has no clue about keeping tarentulas... It was a pretty sad conversation and basically his reasoning was "it has been in this enclosure for years so it's obviously fine". Tried my best to not be a know it all (which I'm certainly not) but he wouldn't hear my concerns. Anyway it's a bit disheartening considering it's an insect museum made for educational purposes...

darkness975

Latrodectus
Arachnosupporter +