Tailless Whip Scorpion ID?

Scaylen

Arachnopeon
Hi,
I'm new to Tailess Whip Scorpions and just got two of them at a convention this past weekend. They seem to be doing well so far and I was hoping to get some help identifying which subspecies they were, and if possible whether they were male or female. All I was told about them when I purchased them was that they were "the giant species from Africa."

Here's the first one: 3072.jpeg 3074.jpeg 3065.jpeg

Here's the second one:
3075.jpeg 3084.jpeg 3079.jpeg

Thanks!
(And sorry if the pics aren't too great, they were none too happy about being flipped upside down and I was afraid of hurting them trying to make the stay still)

Liquifin

Arachnoking
Well, they're Damon medius or some people call them the "Tanzanian Giant Whip Spider" but the common name is a bit exaggerated. I don't know what sex they are because I'm not a expert on sexing these guys, but there are some people that are better than me. Also just a question, do you remember which vendor you bought them from? Because I'm very curious.

Sarkhan42

Arachnoangel
Agreed they're Damon medius, and two females if I'm not mistaken.

mantisfan101

Arachnoprince
Damon medius, keep them both extremely moist in order to allow them to thrive. Flooding the substrate and restricting ventilation works the best in my experience.

Sikalisko

Arachnopeon
Agreed they're Damon medius, and two females if I'm not mistaken.
What features you used for sexing? I'm curious because I still haven't found time and energy to confirm the sexes of my own D. medius (2 originating from Ghana and 5 from Nigeria, bought from thespidershop and bugzuk).

I thought short reddish hairs near the margin of genital operculum was the way to go? I couldn't see any on those pics, and now I'm confused. Maybe it's a good thing I haven't unnecessarily stressed my animals with sexing attempts yet :D