Suggestions on new camera wanted!

Fingolfin

Arachnoangel
Old Timer
Hello all..... I am going to make the plunge and pickup a new digital camera soon, and would like some advice. I can afford around $500 or so..... I currently am using a Sony 4.1mp DSC-P73, but have heard it referred to as a kids toy by an EBayer..... Of course I'd like it to be good for closeups in macro mode! :drool: I don't know enough about cameras and am just looking for advice from you who do... thanks!

Blasphemy

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
I have been using a Sony DSC-S85 for a couple years now and it has served me pretty well. Not great on macro, but I have gotten a lot of nice 'luck' shots with it. I can't personally recommended anything because I haven't been in the market for a new digital camera for a long time, but I do know this site http://www.dpreview.com/ is great for camera reviews, so you should probably read up there first.

Windchaser

Arachnoking
Old Timer
This is a used Sony DSC-F717 on eBay. This is an excellent camera and will probably provide better pictures than most new cameras in your price range. You may also want to look at the Canon S2.

xgrafcorex

Thread Killer
Old Timer
for a hundred more than 500 you can afford a body for a canon rebel xt. you might even be able to get a package deal ( body and 50mm lens) if not the same price..maybe a little more. but if you just want to point and snap, there are many great cameras for less money.

GartenSpinnen

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
I am very happy with my digital camera, i have gotten very very good shots with it and you can easily pick up one of the newer models for around 400.00. I use an HP R707, it cost me 300.00 and something a couple years ago, its a 5.1 mp camera with 24x zoom. I am sure there is better cameras out there, but this one has loads of features on it and for the price you just cant go wrong. I think HP is very under rated, they are great cameras. Check em out ;)

Windchaser

Arachnoking
Old Timer