Succulents and Tarantulas

CJ Moak

Arachnopeon
Hey there!
I’m a newbie but I’ve been doing a ton of reading here and google searches and have been trying to find things out on my own. I’d like to have a discussion about some live plants for enrichment. I have a Peruvian Purple Pink Toe coming in the next 2-3 weeks. I know that they are tropical and arboreal and my terrarium is close to completion. I do have artificial plants and there are plenty of hides and crawling space and he/she will not be bored. Here is my questions that I am having trouble in finding the answer to.

Are succulent plants safe for tarantulas? I know to disinfect and “purify” it from fertilizers and pesticides before putting it in the tank but I want to know if it’s naturally safe. There are no barbs or spines, they require some moisture and watering every now and again and the tank will be in the living room so there will be natural, ambient light and yet dark enough at night for the spider to be out and about. If this is not a safe plant, please let me know what is and that are easy to care for.

Thanks guys!

fried rice

Arachnoknight
Succulents should not be in your tarantula’s enclosure. All tarantulas in the Avicularia genus are from tropical places (which doesn’t mean you need to mist the enclosure) while succulents are from dry places. Also, it wouldn’t provide any “enrichment” because while they are on the ground the tarantula will be at the top of the enclosure.

Royalty

Arachnoknight
One of the issues with live plants is lighting. Most succulents I have grown have needed direct sunlight which might be an issue. Another is that some spiders will bulldoze any decorations, uprooting plants, etc. An arboreal may not but then there is also the webbing which could hide the plant from the light it needs,

cold blood

Staff member
live plants offer no more "enrichment" than plastic plants...live plants are like expensive enclosures...theyre for the keeper, not the t within.

CJ Moak