Strange spot on Brachypelma albopilosum

Eliz80

Arachnopeon
Hey all, this is my first time posting on the board but I've always frequented here for all my T questions.

Today I was changing out my Brachypelma albopilosum's cage (curly hair) and I noticed a strange spot on it- pic attached. Not sure when this spot popped up because I rarely see my T from this angle and I'm away from home often (relatives take care of the T when I'm away for school and yes they also have done their research and know generally how to care for a tarantula). The past few months it has been a bit finicky about food but it did eat 2 superworms last week after refusing several crickets. Before this feeding, it had been about a month and a half of it refusing food.

Any idea what the spot could be? I don't believe it's molting since I've had it for a bit and typically recognize its premolt behavior and appearance. Plus, it just ate.

General info about the T to potentially help figure this out:

Sex: Unknown
General temp: 75 F
Humidity: anywhere from 60-75%
Set up: coconut moss, open water dish
Last molt: July
General appearance: full abdomen, hairy, no oddities besides mentioned spot
Behavior: previously fasting but broke fast, frequently out to drink water (not sure if drinking more than usual or just deciding to come out in the day rather than night to drink), less interest in food- previously was pretty ferocious

Thanks for any help you can provide!

Attachments

KezyGLA

Arachnoking
Then I would say that is injury from fall. Remove sharp decor and add more sub. Even if you think you have enough sub :p

Eliz80

Arachnopeon
Then I would say that is injury from fall. Remove sharp decor and add more sub. Even if you think you have enough sub :p
Ah, any idea if it's looking like it's healing? Looks nasty but the T seems to be fine in terms of behavior.