Stayed up late looking at spiders & bugs

mnor

Arachnopeon
So, I'm pretty new to keeping tarantulas. I'm thinking this might be a phase, but I tend to spend the majority of my free time compulsively reading about tarantulas and looking at pictures of them on the internet. Another problem I have is that things that are weird to most people don't seem weird to me anymore, and I accidentally talk about tarantulas with people who aren't interested in hearing about them. Anyway, I was sitting here looking at fearnottarantulas, wondering if my wife would accept that it's reasonable to spend $350 on a spider if it's rare, big, purple, etc.

That's when I heard this whooshing/scraping/thumping sound, which is the sound of little arthropod feet scurrying around on acrylic. This was about 2 hours ago. I got up to look at my bookshelf that has all my creatures on it, and I see none other than my H. Maculata up against the plastic with a roach in his mouth! I think the sound I heard was him tackling it. I'm delighted because I haven't seen spider since I purchased him about a month ago. I don't know his sex, but I wanted to name him Saruman the White and now I regard him as a male. When I bought him, the guy at the reptile expo warned me that this species is difficult to rehouse and has "pet hole" tendencies. The tarantula did, in fact, go under my couch and then climb up the wall behind it. I successfully captured him in a cup and put him in his home, but I was not able to keep the incident a secret from my wife. When it happened, I yelled at my kids to go upstairs, and somehow they knew that the spider escaped and told her. They usually don't do something the first time I ask them to, but in this instance they complied without asking any questions.