Scorpions from Reno . . .

Pacmaster

Arachnoangel
Old Timer
So I went out into the desert near Pyramid Lake outside Reno Nevada yesterday, lookin for Desert Horned Lizards, but all I was able to find were a bunch of scorpions.
They all looked like they are the kind that glow in the dark.
I did bring 1(out of like 15) home to keep, as they seemed so plentiful around there, I didnt think Id be hurting the population.

My question is, are these the Desert Hairy Scorpions or what kind are they?

Thanks for the help all you scorp addicts out there . . . ;)

Animalia

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
im pretty new to scorps and all so i might be wrong but i think its Hadrurus spadix not for sure though

Widowman10

Arachno WIDOW
Old Timer
beautiful spadix :clap: is it freshly molted, or is it really clear/white like that? mine has a yellow hue all about...

Pacmaster

Arachnoangel
Old Timer
beautiful spadix :clap: is it freshly molted, or is it really clear/white like that? mine has a yellow hue all about...
It has a yellowish hue to it, the white is prolly the lighting and the plastic jug.

I went back up today, to a different spot- again in search of the elusive horny toads- and was at least able to get enough cool stuff to setup a nice, naturalistic desert-scape for this scorpion.

Yesterday was the first time I ever seen a wild scorp, let alone this is the first wc, hand-caught 1 Ive kept.

Is the spadix a "rare" treat, or is that all that the only kind out there?
All the ones I seen were pretty much the exact same as this one . . .

Widowman10

Arachno WIDOW
Old Timer
Is the spadix a "rare" treat, or is that all that the only kind out there?
All the ones I seen were pretty much the exact same as this one . . .
are you asking if this one is different than other spadixs? looks normal to me, but i consider any spadix find a special one. they are beautiful scorps and grow so large. less people have spadix than arizonensis.

Animalia

Arachnoknight
Old Timer