Scorpion tank size

scorpolover2000

Arachnopeon
Hi there, i'm new to this but i've been planning to get my first scorpion (an asian forest scorpion) for like a year now and the reason why it s taken me so long is vos i want everything to be perfect. but the only thing that's stopping me is that it's been so difficult for me to find a perfect tank for my scorpion. does anyone know any good links to tanks/terrariums that also delivers in Uk? i think i might end up buying the exo terra tanks but i don't know if i should get the 30cmx30cmx30cm and if that will be enough space for asian forest scorpion or spend a bit more and get a 45x45x45 or will that be too big?

FrankiePinchinatti

Arachnoknight
You are probably severely overthinking things. You could save quite a bit of money and just get a plain 10 gallon tank. Most scorpions are not at all picky with their enclosure, just make sure they have plenty of moist coco fiber, a bit of heat and a place to hide. After that the only maintenance they require is keeping the humidity up and throwing in the occasional food item.

Lubed Tweezer

Arachnolord
You can do with 30x30cm, but since most adult Heterometrus species grow up to 11-15cm in length I would recommend getting the 45x45cm.
'Rule of thumb' is 3x length of the scorpion. I'm sure you can find multiple webshops that deliver in the UK.
If you are searching for scorpion webshops you probably won't find much, try searching for tarantula webshops since the 'T-hobby' is much larger.
Personally i would recommend visiting one or more invertebrate shows/meetings. (there are several in the UK)
Prices are more friendly, you can look at the product with your own eyes, feel with your own hands.
Besides enclosures you can also find heating, substrate and decoration at those shows, they are a real good 'one stop shop' and a nice day out.