Questions from a beginner

Joe

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
I've been raising herps for about 20 years, but I've only recently gotten into inverts. I have a few questions regarding scorpions.

Are there any species that can safely be kept communally? I have a lot of rather large aquariums but no small ones, really. It would be senseless to use 20 gallon tank on one animal.

What are some good species for beginners (other than emperors)? I'm partial to animals that can't kill me.

Thanks in advance.

Joe

Silver.x

Arachnoangel
Old Timer
H.Spinifer and Longimanus are good, not as communal as emps though.

Kugellager

ArachnoJester of the Ancient Ones
Arachnosupporter
Another good species for a beginner is either of the Desert hairys...Hadrurus arizonensis or Hadrurus spadix; both desert species. They can be kept communally is given enough space, enough hides and food. Though not as easily as any of the Pandinus spp or Heterometrus spp. (jungle species). Those three genus are large-sized scorpions...the Hadrurus are the species you would see outside theri burrow the most.

Other good larger communal species that have a little more painful sting are Centruroides gracilis (Florida variety) and Centruroudes margaritatas(harder to find). A small communal species (2-2.5") that has alot of spunk but is not dangerous is Vaejovis spinigerus; another desert species.

John
];')

Joe

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
I'm gathering that emperors are the best communal species? I was planning on buying a trio and putting them in an aquarium that is basically a 2.5' cube. Would this be sufficient?

I'd also like some smaller species, as emperors are rather large.

As far as decorations go, do scorpions generally tend to dig things up?

Kugellager

Arachnosupporter