Poecilotheria rufilata

Duke1907

Arachnopeon
Hello to all. Got a long post here. Questions within.
I always say this first when posting here... I'm a noob, having only been in the hobby for a little more than a year. I'm also not a kid, I'm grown, more than middle-aged, even.
So. That being said, I own what I consider a fair number of tarantulas, atw from docile North American NWs to some NW arboreals to African OW dwarfs and a couple other baboon sp. I've got a bit of experience keeping many kinds with varying temperaments.
But I've never had a Poecilotheria.
Until now.

I feel that it is relevant to quantify that.

So I purchased a couple new T's from a reputable local breeder last weekend, all NW dwarfs.
He offered me several freebies, among them a 1.5 inch P. rufilata.
I didn't want it at first. I was like "No. Get a horrida or another pulcher or some scrubland terrestrial. Don't go with the Asian arboreals yet. You're not ready."
But the more I thought about the rufilata, the more I wanted it. The more I felt that I had the stones to handle it. Unwise? Possibly. But Dude. It's a FREEBIE rufilata. I mean you know? If I hadn't known and trusted the breeder I would've been less inclined to even consider it. But I do know and trust the dealer and he's always went out of his way to do me right. Every spood I've got from him was healthy and all of them are still thriving. I've got NWs and OW's from him. So I just couldn't pass this pokie up. A freebie rufilata. I still can't believe it!

Anyhow now I've got my first pokie, again a 1.5 rufilata sling maybe a little bigger dls.Closer to 2 inches maybe, is my thought. Haven't had a chance myself to get a proper measurement, as it mostly hides or calmly boogies into it's tube when I approach the enclosure. It doesn't bolt so far, not that I've seen. It's very chill, confident in it's camo and danger level I suppose... Except during feeding. I'll get to that in a minute.