Plz respond asap!

ruckaisawesome

Arachnosquire
Can I take out the molt of my centipede? I want to use it as a display.. Will it cause pede to not grow as big? Plz respond as soon as possible before my centipede decides to eat it!

---------- Post added 07-13-2012 at 08:49 PM ----------

anyone?? I have some dead crickets too.. Can I replace it with that?

Aviara

Arachnoknight
I'm not that experienced with centipedes, but I believe it would be fine. I don't even know that you would notice a difference in growth if you took it, versus if you had left it in the enclosure for the centipede to consume. However, I don't think giving it the dead crickets would be a good idea, as it would be abnormal for centipedes to consume prey immediately post-molt. The best thing to do, again in my inexperienced opinion, would be to take the molt for your purposes, let the centipede recover from molting as you normally do, and then continue on with your usual care routine.

ScarecrowGirl

Arachnosquire
Should'a left it, depending on the size of the pede that could have been the last meal for a while, mine never leave any bits of their molts behind, I only know when they molt after I see them and they look a little squishy and ghostly.

J Morningstar

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
Never ever remove their molt, it is supposed to be eaten or they wouldn't do it. It is their way of reclaimiming the nutrients to harden their exoskeleton. Bad idea ever. Search posts before doing something bad.

Elytra and Antenna

Arachnoking
Arachnosupporter +
There are many inverts that normally eat their own exuvium that have done just as well when they've missed out on one. There are also many inverts that don't eat the exuvium; were it really such a disadvantage nearly all the arachnids would be extinct. All the scutigerid centipedes would also be extinct following this line of reasoning. If you have a use for it, it's okay to take it out.

Last edited:

ruckaisawesome

Arachnosquire