Pinhead infestation

Buspirone

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
How much of a problem is a pinhead infestation for a healthy tarantula? I jut noticed a small army of pin heads on the end of the tank wear I keep the water dish. In the future can I cut the ovipositor on the female to prevent egg laying. I think I'll put my rosie in a temp. container and either put the tank in the freezer or get a garden light with a reflector and dry out the enclosure to dessicate the pinheads and eggs.......UGHH!!!

ahkiu

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
i have no personal experience but i think it could be a very serious problem. If i recall correctly. someone on this board made a post about problems with their T because they didn't realise that a cricket had laid eggs and the pinheads were crawling on their t and taking nibbles.

jwb121377

Arachnoangel
Old Timer
If I were you I would just keep your rosie on a dry substrate, I have four of these and none seem to mind the substrate being dry. I *think* crickets have to have a moist substrate to lay eggs in and have them hatch so if you dry the cage out the problem is thus eliminated.

Code Monkey

Arachnoemperor
Old Timer
Actually, that T had other problems and actually died - the pinhead 'attack' was secondary.

A healthy T is almost never going to be under any direct threat from pinheads, but they can stress the T out which is never good. Unless your T is about to moult, just let the tank dry out and keep a water dish full. They'll die and drown themselves in the water bowl.

Best way to prevent them is to not keep tanks constantly moist all the time.

EDIT: just noticed the part about it being a G. rosea, yep, keep it dry all the time and you definitely won't have pinhead problems. There's no reason to keep a rosea moist, ever, past being a small sling.

Last edited:

Lycanthrope

Arachnolord
Old Timer
I *think* crickets have to have a moist substrate to lay eggs in and have them hatch so if you dry the cage out the problem is thus eliminated.