Photography

Profkrakatoa

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
Is it possible to get good tarantula pictures with a "point and shoot" digital camera?

I'm a very novice picture taker - mainly just taking pictures of my students doing labs to post on my school web page. I have a Canon Power Shot A560 with a 4x optical zoom and 7.1 megapixels.

Here is the "best" picture I've been able to get of Boris - but this is when I first got him and he wasn't at ease. (BTW--he's NOT on the bark anymore!)

Last edited:

Talkenlate04

ArachnoGod
Old Timer
Yes it is very possible. Most point and shoots these days have a build in macro mode. On the little spin dial (which should be on the top left of the camera) it will have a picture of a little flower. Turn the dial to that. I know the powershot has it I use them at work.

It's a limited macro mode. But it will let you get a bit closer then on the regular auto mode, and I have seen some great pics come from them.

Tunedbeat

Arachnolord
Old Timer
I've seen alot of good stuff done with just a simple P&S.
The camera has little to do with taking a good picture, it's mainly the photographer. Take a look at this gallery, Techuser is one of fav. on Flickr. Everything he's done, is done with a P&S.

Profkrakatoa

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
Yes it is very possible. Most point and shoots these days have a build in macro mode. On the little spin dial (which should be on the top left of the camera) it will have a picture of a little flower. Turn the dial to that. I know the powershot has it I use them at work.

It's a limited macro mode. But it will let you get a bit closer then on the regular auto mode, and I have seen some great pics come from them.
Thanks!! I just went and checked my camera - it's not on the spin dial, but I found it on the function wheel next to the digital display. I took a few pictures of Boris and Natasha and I'll upload them to a picture thread tomorrow! :)

Ted

Arachnoprince
Old Timer