P. muticus substrate

Yrrej

Arachnopeon
Joined
Jun 9, 2017
Messages
8
So i have the king baboon for a week now and the bottom half of the substrate is still moist and condensing, should i change the substrate or leave it be? 20170622_183146.jpg 20170622_183146.jpg
Below is the domain itself
20170622_183146.jpg
 

kooky

Arachnosquire
Joined
Aug 4, 2016
Messages
91
i just left mine, it dried out eventually. I also took out some substrate at the top to create more space so the ventilation holes weren't blocked with dirt and just left it be.
 

Yrrej

Arachnopeon
Joined
Jun 9, 2017
Messages
8
i just left mine, it dried out eventually. I also took out some substrate at the top to create more space so the ventilation holes weren't blocked with dirt and just left it be.
Some ventilation holes are indeed blocked,but would it be okay in that i am disturbing the king in the process of removing excess substrate?
 

Trenor

Arachnoprince
Joined
Jan 28, 2016
Messages
1,899
I'd take some off the top so you have more room to work. If you let it fill up too much it'll be harder to maintain work space and it'll make a blind spot area. I doubt removing it will be noticed by the T who will be more concerned with the tunnels.
 

Yrrej

Arachnopeon
Joined
Jun 9, 2017
Messages
8
I'd take some off the top so you have more room to work. If you let it fill up too much it'll be harder to maintain work space and it'll make a blind spot area. I doubt removing it will be noticed by the T who will be more concerned with the tunnels.
Removed most from the top,the T just stayed inside the tunnels whilst i removed the substrate
Will this do? 20170622_220356.jpg
 

GreyPsyche

Arachnosquire
Joined
Jun 19, 2016
Messages
92
My set up is exactly the same except with smaller vent holes but many more of them, some even going down the enclosure. I let mine dry out as the T didn't seem to care. It's a very hardy species. I would just leave it.
 
Top