Orb Weaver as 'pet'?

silverfish

Arachnopeon
Hi,
I'm new to this form, but not new to spiders (wild ones that is). I've recently came upon a six spotted orb weaver. It was strangely on my car when I drove home this afternoon (must have hitched a ride?) and since it was supposed to thunderstorm this evening I decided to get some dirt, grass, dead leaves, and some small living leaves and placed it into a long container until the morning. I've really came to adore it, and I was wondering what the possibility is to keeping them as a pet? It seems to me not the best idea, considering it was once wild, but I was just curious myself. I have silverfish right now (a growing amount) so I'm used to dealing with small delicate insects. Just curious IMG_4332.jpg
Thanks

Ah Lee

Arachnosquire
Hi there! You can keep orbweavers, but just some things to take note:

1. They usually do not thrive/eat/drink without a web.

2. For such tiny spiders, they actually need a pretty large space to build a web. Enclosure should also have enough anchor points and lots of ventilation, so people usually use flexariums.