Need Suggestions for a 8x8x12 Tank

Regal Jumpers

Arachnopeon
I'm pretty new to arachnids in general, I've only owned some Regal Jumping Spiders and a ghost mantis. I set up a 8x8x12 Zoo Med tank for a jumping spider, but I realized it was WAY to big. Now I have this really nice planted tank set up with nothing in it. I'm thinking about branching out into tarantulas or other species of mantids. Any suggestions are appreciated!

chanda

Arachnoking
Old Timer
A lot depends on the orientation and setup of the tank. Pictures would be helpful. Is it planted with live plants, or decorated with fake ones? What kind and depth of substrate does it have? How is it ventilated?

Is this one of the vertical tanks, that's 12" tall and has a door on the front? If so, it is not going to be suitable for any terrestrial tarantula species, though it could be used for an arboreal tarantula. Terrestrial tarantulas should never have more than 1.5 times their diagonal leg span between the top of the enclosure and the top of the substrate, because even terrestrial species can climb, but a fall can be fatal. In a 12" tank, that's going to require piling the substrate fairly deep - which that front-opening door (and the ventilation holes below the door) will not permit. An arboreal tarantula - such as an Avicularia or Caribena species would be fine, because they don't need the deep substrate and they are fine with a tall cage. They do need plenty of anchor points - such as sticks, branches, or plants - to construct their webs.