My GBB sling not webbing?

DeathMarch6

Arachnopeon
Hello I'm new to the hobby and have perchased a beautiful GBB sling from TheSpiderShop.co.uk, the little sling is beautiful and looks healthy. The abdomen is of good size and has taken 2 pinhead crickets already. The sling arrived yesterday and has been in the small Exo Terra faunarium over 24hrs. My concern is it spends a lot of time still and hasn't made any attempt at webbing.. is this usual? As it's my first T I'm just worried. Thanks

DeanK

Arachnosquire
24 hours is no time. Would you worry if you moved house and hadn't unpacked everything after 24 hours? No different for a T really. Just acclimating to it's new home and it will start to web when it's ready

TownesVanZandt

Arachnoprince
Right, you need patience when dealing with T´s. After all, they have all the time in the world inside their enclosures :)

mistertim

Arachnobaron
Give it some time, they need to get acclimated first generally. Do you have anchor points for webbing? Can you provide a pic of your setup?

DeathMarch6

Arachnopeon
Thanks guys I was just making sure, I've heard so many stories of people losing Slings that it scared me haha mines spending a lot of time under the sling hide that I got but I think it's dragged a Pinhead under there. Thanks again

viper69

ArachnoGod
Old Timer
My concern is it spends a lot of time still
All tarantulas are pet rocks, some more so than others. If you were looking to observe an interesting, regularly active animal then you picked the wrong animal to own and will quickly grow tired of them.

Ts take a while to settle in before they go about their business. The time varies on the individual T.

If your sling is very tiny, and it sounds that way as it's eating pinheads, it can probably escape through the holes in the lid, I've seen those containers before. You should check. Remember, any convict will try and escape ;)

If the holes are wider than the carapace, your T can escape.

Misty Day

Arachnobaron