Monocentropus balfouri - adding new tarantula

voyager156

Arachnopeon
I have a mature female Monocentropus balfouri. Can I add another, smaller Monocentropus balfouri to her enclosure?

Will they peacefully coexist together? What are Your thoughts?

Neonblizzard

Arachnomoron
I would do a bit of research on it first. I'm not an expert but I'm quite sure there's a bunch of quite specific things you have to do /set up to get it to work. You definitely can't just put them together and they'll get along

viper69

ArachnoGod
Old Timer
I have a mature female Monocentropus balfouri. Can I add another, smaller Monocentropus balfouri to her enclosure?

As stated - maybe- until the female eats the other.

emartinm28

Arachnoknight
I thought when a M. Balfouri is solitary and is already an adult it may not be easy for it to move in with other T's?
They were saying that they would peacefully co-exist in SEPARATE enclosures.
OP- the only way to ensure that cannibalism is not a risk is to keep your Ts in separate enclosures. While this species does seem to fare much better than all others when kept communally, cannibalism CAN and HAS happened. It is not worth risking the life of a T.

xXTristinaXx

Arachnobaron
k
So would it not be smart to do communal and is something the OG T keepers like here on arachnoboards don't recommend?
Also, Im super confused on what you mean by peacefully co-exist in seperate enclosure in that case for sure, they wouldn't be living together

moricollins

Arachno search engine
Old Timer
k
So would it not be smart to do communal and is something the OG T keepers like here on arachnoboards don't recommend?
Also, Im super confused on what you mean by peacefully co-exist in seperate enclosure in that case for sure, they wouldn't be living together
That is correct, they would not be living together. They can peacefully coexist without being in the same container... My neighbours and I peacefully coexist despite not sharing a house, for example.

BoyFromLA