Missing Legs Post Molt

Porrhothele

Arachnopeon
I have been having issues with my tarantulas for several months now. I've lost several animals- all were behaving strangely and then would become lethargic and I'd find them dead later on. I don't use pesticides, sprays, cleaners, any chemicals at all around them. There have been no changes in substrates, feeders, water source, etc. Absolutely everything has been the same and I've been keeping for several years.

Today I find one of my I. mira out of it's burrow which is highly unusual and I look and find that it is missing 3 legs. I dumped it's enclosure and found that it had recently molted and the molt is pretty beaten up but looks ok. No prey item has been left in the enclosure and the enclosure is very secure. All I can assume is that something went wrong with the molt but I have no idea what. I understand that this can happen sometimes and that the legs will grow back, my concern is that this is somehow related to the deaths.

I am truly at a loss as to what could be happening. Has anyone experience something like this or have any idea what could have happened?

Attachments

Last edited:

viper69

ArachnoGod
Old Timer
It happens- happened to me 2x with the same T

Can’t tell ya if it’s related

BillsSpider

Arachnoknight
My B.emilia lost one stuck in a molt, she's grown it back as a stick leg and next molt you won't be able to tell

Eva

Arachnosquire
That I. mira is missing 4 legs and a pedipalp, not just 3 legs!
Unfortunately, I cannot see how this can be related to the deaths and what is generally wrong...