Minerals in substrate harmful?

darlingi

Arachnosquire
Hey! :)

I'm new to tarantula-keeping and just got my first one, a t. albopilosus on sunday.

Today I woke up to some mold/fungi in my terrarium, so I went to pick up some isopods. I was happy to see them getting to work right away. However, the substrate they came in has some small minerals in them.
Some of them almost have a metallic shine, so I'm kinda worried now that they might hurt my girl (by being sharp). Probably it's just some sand mixed in there and nothing to worry about?
I could obviously remove the substrate again, (after the isopods have buried deeper), but I don't want to put my albo into even more stress, so I thought I should ask if it's even necessary.
I've attached a picture, but the grains look much bigger than they really are.

Thank you! :)

substrate.jpg

BoyFromLA

Spoon feeder
Arachnosupporter +
I don’t see any reasons.

You can change substrates once you’re rehousing later after your tarantula molts or two.

Sterls

Arachnobaron
Not a problem. It's either calcium or vermiculite. What kind of isopods though? They're able to munch on molting Ts so it's always a little risky using them; I believe a lot of people use dwarf whites without issue, but even they can take out a T if the numbers get high. Springtails are a better cleanup crew - they pose no risk whatsoever.

darlingi

Arachnosquire
Not a problem. It's either calcium or vermiculite. What kind of isopods though? They're able to munch on molting Ts so it's always a little risky using them; I believe a lot of people use dwarf whites without issue, but even they can take out a T if the numbers get high. Springtails are a better cleanup crew - they pose no risk whatsoever.
They are white dwarf isopods. I’m surprised since this is the first time I'm hearing they could harm my T, and I’ve done a LOT of research before. I was browsing a german T forum and haven’t read anything else than that they’re totally safe for the T.

Sterls