Mealworm Pupae Turning Black or Becoming Deformed

richard22

Arachnosquire
Basically, I have been breeding mealworms since Aug 2018, and from around Oct 2018 and until the present day, every mealworm pupa I have had has either slowly turned brown on the wings, and sometimes pupate incorrectly, and very rarely correctly pupated into beetles. I have researched these two issues HEAVILY and I have since noted two possible causes. Here is my basic breeding setup (don’t read if you don’t feel it necessary to understand my issue): sterilite bins, with or without lid (with unventilated lid more beetles seem to hatch); wheat bran substrate, a few fairly thin and halved potato slices switched out every other day; the substrate is not replaced often, only when the frass is noticeable, and I use the same gloves that I use replacing food for other insects [lots, but slight majority roaches] and grain mites have been spotted in SOME small cultures of misc. mealworms but I haven’t seen them in dry and horizontal mealworm containers and mostly in frass. Pupa are normally put onto some wheat bran and not clumped but near each other, humidity would be very normal and same for temps, and finally I take pupa out every other day and not every day.)

For the pupa browning, the only possibility I can imagine is they are drying out. I don’t keep them in deserts, and mealworm tutorials don’t say to keep pupa in a humid container, so this is likely not the true cause. This issue is the majority of the issue, except in unventilated and/or humid containers with the pupa, but I was also told pupa need high ventilation and probably don’t need special humidity since this isn’t mentioned much as a consideration of special pupae treatment.