Leg loss during molt...

Heather

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
Hi! I'm still fairly new to the wonderful world of T's, so forgive my igonorance here, please.

My smallest p. metallica molted yesterday (as well as my little T. plumipes!)

It seemed all went well, but I noticed that she lost a leg... It is the second leg from the front on the left side. I don't know the anatomy too well, but I am guessing that it was lost at what I think is called the trochanter. I do not see any oozing, seems to have sealed up. And as far as I can tell, she is acting fine.

I have not taken out the shedding, as I worry about causing further stress.

I understand that this can happen, my only thought I have is that maybe I needed a humidity boost or something? :confused:

What I was wondering is this: Does the leg loss indicate that their will be future problems or could this just have been a 'freak' happening? Or does it mean that something isn't right and death may follow? I understand that all critters are different... but if anyone has had any experience I would love to hear your thoughts.

When should I take out the molt?
Thanks to everyone who helps! I am a little, er, a lot worried. :?

Iggy22

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
I wouldn't worry about it. If you say it has seemed to have sealed up and she is walking around fine, your all set. She'll grow it back next molt. Just make sure she isn't leaking any clear fluid.

As far as boosting humidity and all that, it is most likely just a freak occurrence. T's sometimes loose their legs if they were damaged before hand or if it was stuck. I thing the best thing to do is just keep and eye on it.

ratz00

Arachnosquire
Old Timer